Alice in Wonderland lunch and linky

Today (Jan 27) is Lewis Carroll’s birthday, and his well known works include Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass.

I made a quick lunch for Z1 and Z2 today based on themes from Alice in Wonderland. Its a quick lunch cos I threw it together hastily since Z1 had a bad cut in the morning after his swim and I had to rush out to the pharmacy to get him some cream to prevent infection and some huge gauze bandages, by the time I got home it was way past noon and the kids were hungry!

Z1 had jam sandwiches from the first chapter Down the Rabbit Hole, with the “Drink Me” potion bottle and “Eat Me” cake that caused Alice to shrink and grow in size. I tossed in a boiled quail egg to be the White Rabbit.

Alice in Wonderland cute lunch bento - Down the Rabbit Hole. "Eat me" "Drink me" and the white rabbit

Alice in Wonderland lunch bento – Down the Rabbit Hole

Z2 had sammies themed after the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party, where it was always 6 o’clock (tea time). I cut her teapot and teacup freehand as I did not have the cookie cutters for those shapes. Decorated with sprinkles and a quail egg to be the sleeping dormouse.

Alice in Wonderland cute lunch bento - Mad Hatter's Tea Party. Tea pot, Tea cup, sleeping dormouse

Alice in Wonderland lunch bento – Mad Hatter’s Tea Party

“Mad Hatter: “Why is a raven like a writing-desk?”
“Have you guessed the riddle yet?” the Hatter said, turning to Alice again.
“No, I give it up,” Alice replied: “What’s the answer?”
“I haven’t the slightest idea,” said the Hatter” 
― Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland

I’m linking this up at BentOnBetterLunches’ Through the Looking Glass linky. Click through for more great lunch ideas based on Lewis Carroll’s works.

through the looking glass linky party

17 thoughts on “Alice in Wonderland lunch and linky

  1. Pingback: More lunches inspired by Alice in Wonderland « Bento Days

Leave a Note! I'll love to hear from you.

