Piggy Bread

Piggy Bread in Pigsty Bento (cute bread for kids) | Bento Days

Piggy Bread in Pigsty Bento

Don’t you love these cute piggy bread in a pigsty? It is simple to make and a perfect snack for the kids.

I came across the idea here but I used my own bread recipe (click here for the bread recipe).

After the bread has proofed once in the bread machine, I shaped them into large round balls and placed them in cupcake holders (those which can hold their own shape, not the paper liners). Place in a warm area and let it rise for about 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 200 degree Celsius.

Roll small bits of dough into triangle shapes to create the ears, and roll some dough into an oval shape to create the nose. I used a toothpick to make 2 holes for the pigs’s nose. Stick these onto the large balls of dough using a bit of warm water (I found that this trick makes these small bits of dough stay on during baking).

Bake for 15 minutes or until the pigs have turned slightly golden brown and a skewer inserted comes out clean.

I stuck on some Wilton’s candy eyes using peanut butter (or you could use royal icing).

The pigsty is actually a Lunchbots lunchbox. I lined the base with bread spread thickly with Nutella (to create the look of mud). The fence of the pigsty is pretzel sticks, and the pigs look pretty happy in the pigsty.

Cute Piggy Bread for kids | Bento Days

Cute Piggy Bread

See the pig wallowing in the mud? The pig’s tail was made by rolling up a thin strip of dough and curled to create the curly pig’s tail.

Cute Piggy Bread for kids | Bento Days

Cute Piggy Bread

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Piggy Bread

  1. Pingback: Top 13 of 2013 | Bento Days

Leave a Note! I'll love to hear from you.